Local Events

 

Unlock Your Company’s Potential: Selling, Acquiring, or Expanding
Tuesday, October 17, 2023
6 pm - 8 pm MT
Four Points by Sheraton Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Are you considering selling or expanding your business? If so, don’t miss this rare opportunity to hear directly from the Colbourne Group! In this informative presentation, we will deep dive into the following topics:

    • Source potential buyers or acquisition targets for your business
    • Conduct due diligence, company valuation and negotiations
    • Make informed decisions on expansion, restructuring and succession planning
    • Secure expansion financing or alternative funding sources
    • Structuring your group benefits and retirement plans
    If you would like to learn valuable financial planning strategies for your business, this is a must-attend event for you, your partners and colleagues. Although the event is complimentary, space is limited and registration is required.

     


    Upcoming Virtual Events


    Upcoming events are currently being finalized. Email us at jeff.colbourne@igpwm.ca if you'd like to be notified when the next event is open for registration.

    A mortgage strategy: why it matters in the time of rising rates

    A mortgage strategy: why it matters in the time of rising rates
    Thursday, April 11, 2024
    10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

    With interest rates now roughly twice as high as they were five years ago, how will the significant increase in mortgage costs impact your lifestyle, savings and future goals?

    And, perhaps more importantly, what can you do about it?

    Join Shauna Clarke, Vice President, Mortgages and Banking Solutions and Ashish Utarid, Assistant Vice President, Investment Strategy as they talk about the benefits of a mortgage strategy built around you and how to integrate it into your overall financial plan.

    This session will cover:
    •    Housing market economic outlook
    •    What is the impact if your mortgage is coming up for renewal in the next two years?
    •    Why integrating your mortgage strategy matters from a financial planning perspective.

    There will also be a virtual Q&A at the end of the discussion to answer some of your questions.



    Past Virtual Events

    Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one

    Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one
    Wednesday, March 7, 2024
    10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

    Join Herp Lamba, Senior Vice President, Head of Business Development and Craig McIntyre, Director Tax & Estate Planning, Advanced Financial Planning as they discuss tax advice that could help optimize your income tax return with Revenue Canada.

    This session will cover:
    - Tax refunds, and why it’s BETTER not to receive one
    - The differences between a tax deduction and tax credit
    - How to reduce your income tax deductions at source
    - What should you do with the extra dollars in your monthly income

    There will also be a virtual Q&A at the end of the discussion.

    How to transition from your
    business to your retirement

    How to transition from your business to your retirement
    Thursday, February 22, 2024
    10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 1 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

    As a business owner, have you considered your comprehensive retirement plan? Did you know 76% of small business owners are planning to leave their business, but only 9% have a formal plan in place?

    Join Amanda Lang and IG expert Aurèle Courcelles, AVP Tax & Estate Planning as they discuss how to navigate retirement when owning a business.

    Strategies to protect your financial future

    2024 Market Outlook
    Thursday, December 14, 2023
    11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

    Join Philip Petursson, Chief Investment Strategist, and Ashish Utarid, Assistant Vice-President Investment Strategy as they share their team’s 2024 market outlook.
     

    Topics include:

    - Interest rates and the economy.
    - Recession risks and inflation.
    - Valuations and commodity prices.

    Strategies to protect your financial future

    Strategies to protect your financial future
    Thursday, November 9, 2023
    11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

    With the right financial strategies, you can take comfort in knowing that your home, your hard-earned savings and the lifestyle you enjoy won’t be at risk.

    Join IG’s Head of Financial Planning Christine Van Cauwenberghe; our host, and personal finance expert, Melissa Leong; and IG's Vice President Insurance Distribution, Mike Thomas for this informative webinar.


    Webinar topics include:

    - Protecting your assets and lifestyle
    - Preserving your estate by avoiding probate fees
    - Ensuring lifelong comfort and care

    From success to succession: Getting down to the business of selling your business

    From success to succession: Getting down to the business of selling your business
    Thursday, October 5, 2023
    10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 1 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

    Join Amanda Lang for our exclusive business owner’s webinar. You’ll hear from IG’s experts David Turnbull, Senior Vice President, Head of Private Company Advisory and Sheryl Troup AVP Tax & Estate Planning who will discuss the essential steps required when selling a business.

    This session will cover:

    - How to prepare for the sale and emotional aspects to consider
    - Streamlining operations to enhance profitability
    - Identifying potential buyers
    - Valuing a business
    - What buyers want to know
    - Tax implications